jump to navigation

A.O.Ç. Doğata Satış Mağazası June 8, 2010

Posted by Steven Bartus in Quick Eats, Turkish Cuisine.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

As a self-proclaimed connoisseur of kokoreç, it’s a shame that it’s taken me so long to visit Atatürk Orman Çiftliği (A.O.Ç.). Countless Turks have sung its praises throughout my time in Ankara, but I kept putting it off since it isn’t as convenient as most downtown restaurants.

After eating at Profesör last week, I promised to make the trip to the A.O.Ç. in order to crown the city’s champion kokoreççi. Yesterday I was able to stop by with my friends on the way home from a wedding in Altınpark to sample the delectable offerings.

Let me say this first: the place is absolutely phenomenal. It’s a mecca for kokoreç lovers. About half a dozen different shops are crowded together, preparing their fare and filling the air with the delicious smells of cooking intestine. The mood is set by street lights muted by thick clouds of smoke accompanied by the murmurs of the hungry crowds below. Undoubtedly, it’s not a destination for haute cuisine, but I can think of few better places to eat in Ankara.

A Turkish friend who attended the wedding with us directed me towards Doğata Satış Mağazası, declaring that it offered the best kokoreç of the lot. I can’t disagree; it was some truly amazing stuff. From my vantage point, the man preparing the kokoreç did everything correctly: he applied the right amount of spice and chopped the meat to achieve near perfect consistency. With each bite I could taste every flavor that makes kokoreç my favorite Turkish food. It’s certainly not an unreasonable claim to suggest that this is the best in this city.

The culinary awesomeness of Doğata Satış Mağazası is not only limited to kokoreç. The köfte is excellent and worth trying. The farm also makes its own superb ayran. The freshness and quality of the ingredients are apparent in everything they make.

Finally, it’s worth mentioning that the A.O.Ç’s dondurma is an attraction in and of itself. One of my friends went on record stating that it was the best soft-serve ice cream she had ever tried. I would concur.

Doğata Satış Mağazası and the other venders at the A.O.Ç. are located on Silhatar Cad. (Google Maps). A large loaf of kokoreç costs a very reasonable 8.50TL ($5.30 at 1.60TL/$).

P.S. I must apologize for the sub-par pictures in this post. I didn’t have my dSLR with me at the time and was forced to use a point-and-shoot camera, not an ideal tool for photography in low-light conditions.

Comments»

1. Deniz - June 8, 2010

Hey Steven, how about a ranking of kokoreç vendors?

2. Steven Bartus - June 8, 2010

After I try Pikolet that is my plan. Are there any other places in Ankara worth considering?

3. Deniz - June 9, 2010

Not that i know of, you covered all most known and famous ones except Pikolet.

4. ümit - June 10, 2010

pikolet ok.what about rumeli??

5. Steven Bartus - June 10, 2010

I’ll add Rumeli to the list.

6. Pikolet « Eating Ankara - June 17, 2010

[…] fierce: Kıtır and Profesör have been impressive, but the lead is currently being held by Doğata Satış Mağazası in Atatürk Orman Çiftliği. Pikolet performs well against these competitors with some very good […]

7. Doğata « Eating Ankara - June 20, 2010

[…] Posted by Steven Bartus in Breakfast, Turkish Cuisine. Tags: Turkish Breakfast trackback When I visited Atatürk Orman Çiftliği two week ago, I was reminded that in addition to having very good […]


Leave a comment