jump to navigation

Pikolet June 17, 2010

Posted by Steven Bartus in Quick Eats, Turkish Cuisine.
Tags:
trackback

In my never-ending quest to find the best kokoreç in Ankara, I followed a recommendation from the comments section of an earlier post and checked out Pikolet. At this point in the contest, the competition is fierce: Kıtır and Profesör have been impressive, but the lead is currently being held by Doğata Satış Mağazası in Atatürk Orman Çiftliği. Pikolet performs well against these competitors with some very good sebzeli kokoreç. In the end, though, it falls a bit short of beating them.

I tend to judge kokoreç based on the balance displayed between flavor and consistency. Good kokoreç will exhibit enough spicing to bring out and complement the natural flavors of the lamb and vegetables without becoming overwhelming. It will also maintain a consistency that is fine enough to avoid being overly chewy while still able to provide sufficient texture in each bite. This balance is not something quantifiable; I can’t say that this kokoreç is 21 percent better than that kokoreç. But it’s the basis I use when judging these places, something I’ve honed by consuming dozens and dozens of portions.

I enjoyed the kokoreç at Pikolet. Particularly for the vegetable variety (I tend to prefer the izgara ones), it’s very tasty. However, I’d probably go to the other places mentioned above before returning here. There’s not a drastic different; it’s simply a matter of preference, which ultimately is the final arbiter in taste. You can’t go wrong with any of them, so try each of these places and decide on the best for yourself.

In the upcoming weeks, I’m going to be checking out the kokoreç at Rumeli. Although known more for its işkembe, several readers have recommended it to me for consideration in my rankings.

Pikolet is located on Gençlik Cad., not far from Düveroǧlu (Google Maps). The other branch of Profesör is also nearby if you want to check out the competition. A yarım portion of kokoreç costs 7TL ($4.50 at 1.57TL/$). Köfte and midye dolması are sold at Pikolet as well.

Comments»

1. oburcan - June 17, 2010

Dear Steven ,
congratulations and good luck in your kokoreç quest. I think you have tried almost all of the famous kokoreçs in Ankara except mobile ones. But there is one more ; Şampiyon Kokoreç on Sakarya Street which is franchise of Şampiyon Kokoreç in İstanbul. I also haven’t tried it but I will try because of your frequent kokoreç posts 🙂

Steven Bartus - June 17, 2010

I reviewed Şampiyon several months ago: https://eatingankara.wordpress.com/2009/09/30/sampiyon-kokorec/ It is also quite good, but I think the ones mentioned in this post are better.

2. kerem - June 17, 2010

good point indeed, some mobile kokorec stands are most people’s favorites, but it is hard to find a good one. Perhaps asking a taxi driver would help.

3. Oburcan - June 17, 2010

I’m volunteer to help 🙂

4. Steven Bartus - June 17, 2010

I’ve been to several mobile kokoreç places around the city, but none stand out as being incredible. Let me know if you learn of any worth writing about.


Leave a Reply

