jump to navigation

Köz Köfte June 27, 2010

Posted by Steven Bartus in Turkish Cuisine.
Tags: ,
trackback

Köfte, like döner, is another ubiquitous favorite of Turkish cuisine around the city, and also like döner, it comes in varying degrees of quality. In the early days of this blog, I wrote about Roka, a köfte joint in Bahçelievler that puts a twist on the norm with a large, table-top salad. Through an email from Başask, I learned that there are more places in Ankara that offer this option. She recommended Köz Köfte in Ulus for an even better version of the offerings at Roka. Yesterday, I finally got around to making to the trip across town and would agree with Başak: it’s definitely better.

The formula at Köz Köfte is familiar: a collection of greens and other veggies are spread over the table, doused with lemon juice and topped with roasted garlic and tomatoes. Köz Köfte, though, makes a nice addition with several pieces of çiğ köfte. While I will admit that this particular batch was very much on the average side, it was still a great complement to the lettuce and lemon.

You are given three options for your köfte: acılı (spicy), sade (plain) and kaşarlı (with cheese). Given my preference for spice, I went with the acılı. It was fresh and nicely prepared. In particular, I appreciated that it was not inundated with salt. The meal is finished with a serving of delicious helva, which compares favorably to that of Recep Usta and Çukurağa Sofrası.

The sentiment that I expressed back in September about Roka and last week about the döner at Süha’nın Yeri is also applicable with Köz Köfte: this is not a life-changing meal. The köfte is very tasty and I like the addition of the salad to the meal, but I still tend to find that the best köfte in Ankara comes from the mobile eateries that I wrote about in January.

Although novel compared to the norm, the salad-köfte model remains in need of innovation. It’s not enough to spread a bunch of greens on top of a table. Köz Köfte is on the right track with the çiğ köfte, but why not include some ezme and maybe hummus as well? Without a few additions, the salad will always feel somewhat underutilized.

Köz Köfte is on Kazım Karabekir Cad. (Google Maps). A portion of köfte with drink comes to around 14TL ($8.90 at 1.58TL/$).

Comments»

1. Başak - June 27, 2010

Hi Steven. I m so glad that you gave a shot to Köz Köfte and that you liked it 🙂
By the way, they sometimes serve Patlıcanlı Ezme as well. I think they just serve this when they find nice and fresh eggplants.
But when I looked at your photos I realized how I missed that helva. I think that is the best thing that they serve and I must visit there quickly:)

Steven Bartus - June 28, 2010

I love ezme. I wish they had it when I was there. And I would agree with you: the helva might be the best thing they serve.

2. Köşebaşı « Eating Ankara - June 30, 2010

[…] used this life-changing language in several posts over the past few weeks to convey what several places did not offer. This is not a mark of disappointment. It’s unreasonable to go into […]


Leave a Reply

