jump to navigation

Guangzhou Wuyang April 13, 2010

Posted by Steven Bartus in Foreign Cuisine.
Tags:
trackback

Chinese food has come to mean a lot of different things to a lot of different people. The mere use of the label is almost always hopelessly vague in practice. Within China itself every region possesses distinct culinary traditions, ranging from Cantonese in the south to Szechuan in the west to Shandong in the east. Outside the country each immigrant population incorporates varying levels of authenticity in its cooking combined with an equally variable amount of adaptation to local taste. Thus depending on where you live and travel, you’ll develop a personal understanding for what you call “Chinese food”.

In Ankara the options for Chinese, like most foreign cuisine, are quite limited. One such option is Guangzhou Wuyang in Kavaklıdere (Google Maps). Two weeks ago I sampled its cooking and found the experience to be very satisfying. Was it the best Chinese food I’ve ever had? No. But did I leave feeling happy? You bet.

Guangzhou Wuyang takes some liberties with its menu, going beyond typical Chinese food to offer both Japanese and Korean as well. This multiethnic approach is similar to Sushi Co. and Quick China, the other popular Asian restaurants in Ankara. But on the whole Guangzhou Wuyang still strikes me as being far more authentic; its competitors feel more at home in a shopping mall than anywhere in China. Further adding to its authenticity, Guangzhou Wuyang was full of Asians during my dinner. This is always a positive sign when rating Chinese food in a foreign city.

If you dine with a friend, I’d recommend the “Menu for Two”. You’ll be able to taste the full range of the menu in a cost-effective manner. It includes soup, kim chi, egg rolls, sweet-and-sour chicken, beef and broccoli, fried rice and dessert.  At 35TL ($23 at 1.49TL/$) per person, it’s pricey by Ankara standards, but a good value for the amount of food you get. And for those desiring a beer with their dinner, alcohol is served.

Comments»

1. Décalage Horaire - April 13, 2010

Seems like worth trying! Thank you for the posting, Steven..

2. Ezequiel Martin - April 13, 2010

Hi Steven. I have come across your page by chance and have founf
great pieces of advices; specially if one’s a foreigner and tries to
taste good food in Ankara. Thanks so much. !

Steven Bartus - April 14, 2010

Thanks!

3. nurvenur - May 6, 2010

Hi Steven,
I have been apart from Ankara for four years now. Your blog posts remind me my beautiful days in Ankara. You are picking the best places to eat out. I am a little bit jealous:) In US, I got used to eat from world cuisine. I was wondering if I can find similar tastes when I returned back there. Your posts about Pakistani or Chinese restaurants relieved me a little bit.
When I come back, I will definitely try their food and remember my US days:)

Afiyet olsun!!!


Leave a Reply

