jump to navigation

Göksu October 26, 2009

Posted by Steven Bartus in Turkish Cuisine.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Göksu receives much praise from locals and guide books alike.  The venerable Lonely Planet writes:

Fine dining with uniformed staff and a terrace discreetly shielded from the street by glass and vines. It’s popular with besuited blokes guzzling mezes and rakı (aniseed-flavoured grape brandy).

Goksu-6With great reviews abound, I sat down at Göksu this past week expecting a memorable meal.  Surprisingly, I left very disappointed.

Göksu’s menu is huge; it offers an overwhelming number of options, spanning all aspects of Turkish cuisine.  In my experience this tends to produce mediocrity: it’s difficult to be good at anything if one tries to do everything.  Apprehensively, my partner and I ordered the çoban salatası and the humus.  Both were average.  For our entrées, we chose the patlıcan souğme kebab and the bostan kebab.  The former consists of grilled lamb in a eggplant pureé.  It was tasty, but not remarkable.  The later choice, however, was quite terrible.  Something of a lamb and eggplant casserole, the seasoning was lackluster and the overall flavoring was oddly sweet in off-putting manner.  Finally, we tried the helva for dessert.  It was decent, but far from noteworthy.  In this account the prevailing theme of my dinner at Göksu is obvious: it’s good, but not great.

I don’t consider my experience at Göksu to be an authoritative account of its potential; I haphazardly sampled only a few of the many options on the menu.  In light of my very mediocre dinner, I consulted a more seasoned veteran of the Ankara dining scene to find out where I went wrong with my selections.  He made a few suggestions for a future visit.  My friend recommended the kaygana, which is an omelet with anchovies, as well as the kuymak, which is a combination of fondue and polenta.  Watch this space for an update.

Göksu has two locations in Ankara: I tried the one on Bayındır Sk. in Kızılay (Google Maps), but there is another branch on Nenehatun Cad. in Gaziosmanpaşa.  The prices are average: mezes and salads cost around 7TL ($4.75 at 1.47TL/$) and entrées range between 12 and 23TL ($8.15 to $15.50).   Alcohol is served, and rakı is certainly recommended with any meal.

Comments»

1. Meşhur Oltu Kebapçısı « Eating Ankara - November 19, 2009

[…] previous posts, I’ve bemoaned restaurants that try to do too much, offering tomes as menus and producing […]

2. Café des Cafés « Eating Ankara - February 23, 2010

[…] horrendous dining experience at a otherwise decent-looking place, I tend to give the restaurant the benefit of the doubt and suggest that I ordered the wrong things. I don’t think I can do that with Café des Cafés. I […]

3. Beste - May 22, 2011

Oh, I’m sorry your experience with Göksu was not good. I think it’s a wonderful restaurant, I’m especially crazy about the appetizers. “Karalahana dolması” and “zeytinyağlı fasulye” stills gets me drooling. Oh and the soups. Their soups are the best! I liked all the kebabs I ate there. Their fish is also incredible (the seabass was particularly soft and tasty). But keeping a standart is important, I was lucky enough to eat at Göksu on their good days apparently, but they obviously have their bad days too, which is disappointing.


Leave a Reply

